‎+65 6499 4758
Ang Yee Sin
Assistant Professor
Home / People / Faculty / Ang Yee Sin


Dr. Ang Yee Sin is an assistant professor at the Science, Mathematics and Technology Cluster. He obtained a Bachelor of Medical and Radiation Physics (2010) and a Ph.D. in theoretical condensed matter physics (2014) from the University of Wollongong, Australia. His research focuses on the physics and design of nanoscale devices for future low-power and neuromorphic computing. His research interests include the design of beyond CMOS electronics, charge injection physics at nanoscale interfaces, light-matter interactions in quantum solids, quantum transport in nanostructures, design of topoletrical circuits, reversible computing and the modelling of complex physical systems. He has published over 40 research articles, including Nature CommunicationsPhysical Review Letters, Physical Review Applied, Physical Review B, Applied Physics Letters, and MRS Bulletin. His research works have received multiple awards including Faculty Best Thesis Prize (Australia 2015), IPS Meeting Outstanding Poster Award (Singapore 2016), SUTD FIRST Industry Workshop: First Prize Winner (Singapore 2017), SUTD Research Fest: Runner-Up Prize (Singapore 2019). He was a participant of the 69th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting (Germany 2019).

Yee Sin is an avid collector of classical music recordings.


  • PhD, University of Wollongong (Australia)
  • Bachelor of Medical and Radiation Physics (Hon), University of Wollongong (Australia)

Research Interests

My research interest focuses on the application aspects of condensed matter and quantum materials. My current research works cover a broad spectrum of applied and device physics:

  • Physics of charge transport in low-dimensional and topological materials
  • Design of nanodevices using 2D and topological materials
  • Modeling of beyond CMOS and low-energy computing electronics
  • Topoletrical circuits: Circuit design and experiments
  • Light-matter interactions and photonic applications of topological semimetals
  • Metasurfaces for 5G and beyond

Dr. Ang is an affiliated member of the Electron Photon Plasmonic and Plasma interaction Group (EPPPi) led by Professor Ricky L. K. Ang (Head of Science, Mathematics and Technology Cluster, SUTD).

Multiple UROP, PhD, and Postdoc positions are available. Contact us: yeesin_ang@sutd.edu.sg.

Selected Publications

  1. Y. S. Ang, Y. Chen, L. K. Ang, “Generalized high-energy thermionic electron injection at graphene interface”, Phys. Rev. Appl. 12, 014057 (2019).
  2. Y. S. Ang, H. Y. Yang, and L. K. Ang, “Universal scaling laws in Schottky heterostructures based on two-dimensional materials”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 121, 056802 (2018) – highlighted as “Editors’ Suggestion” and “Featured in Physics”.
  3. Y. S. Ang, S. A. Yang, C. Zhang, Z. Ma, L. K. Ang, “Valleytronics in merging Dirac cones: all-electric filter, valve and universal reversible logic gate”, Phys. Rev. B, 96, 245410 (2017) – selected as “Kaleidoscope”
  4. Y. S. Ang, S.-J. Liang, and L. K. Ang, “Theoretical modelling of electron emission from graphene”, MRS Bulletin 42, 505 (2017).
  5. Y. S. Ang, M. Zubair, and L. K. Ang, “Relativistic space-charge-limited current for massive Dirac fermions”, Phys. Rev. B 95, 165409 (2017).
  6. Y. S. Ang and L. K. Ang, “Current-temperature scaling for a Schottky interface with nonparabolic energy dispersion”, Phys. Rev. Appl. 6, 034013 (2016).
  7. Y. S. Ang, L. K. Ang, Z. Ma, and C. Zhang, “Nonlocal transistor based on pure crossed Andreev reflection in a EuO-graphene/superconductor hybrid structure”, Phys. Rev. B 93, 041422(R) (2016).
  8. M. Sanderson, Y. S. Ang, and C. Zhang, “Klein tunnelling and cone transport in AA-stacked bilayer graphene”, Phys. Rev. B 88, 24, 245404 (2013).
  9. Y. S. Ang, S. Sultan and C. Zhang, “Nonlinear optical spectrum of bilayer graphene in the terahertz regime”, Appl. Phys. Lett. 97, 243110 (2010).

View full publication list at Google Scholar site.

Awards & Honours

  • Lindau Alumni at the 69th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting 2019 (Germany, 2019), nominated by the Singapore National Research Foundation (NRF)
  • Participant of Global Young Scientist Summit 2019 (Singapore, 2019), representing SUTD
  • SUTD Postdoc Research Fest: Runner-Up Prize (Singapore, 2019)
  • Publon Peer Review Award – Top 1% reviewers (USA, 2018)
  • First Place Winner, SUTD FIRST Industry Workshop (Singapore, 2017)
  • Outstanding Poster Award, Institute of Physics Singapore (IPS) Meeting (Singapore, 2016)
  • Faculty Best Postgraduate Thesis Price, Faculty of Engineering and Information Sciences, University of Wollongong, (Australia, 2015)
  • Thesis Examiners’ Commendation of Outstanding Thesis, University of Wollongong (Australia, 2014)
  • Postgraduate Student Best Paper Award, Institute of Superconducting and Electronic Materials (ISEM), University of Wollongong (Australia, 2011)
  • Physics Discipline Prize – Best overall performance in Physics subjects, University of Wollongong (Australia, 2007-2010)
  • Faculty of Engineering Dean’s Merit List, Faculty of Engineering, University of Wollongong (Australia, 2007-2010)